Cooked Mung Sprouts

There is no need to talk about benefits of Sprouts, we all know it pretty well. So, how often do you actually include it in your diet? If your answer is “Not as much as I would like to” , then we are on the same boat. (Just for record, I use sprouts on average 2-3 times a month. )

I figured out I need to experiment more with my sprouts. Most common destination for them is either a raw salad with finely chopped veggies and seasoning or a cooked variation that my mother use to make. I do use them in different and creative ways and most of them turn out pretty awesome. May be being a little more organized (like naming my experiments and/or actually noting down the recipes instead of going with spur of the moment) will help. I am determined to try implementing this thought through my blog.

Today I am sharing the simple, earthy, home recipe that my mother use to cook. Nothing fancy, just basic ingredients and calm mind.

IMG_8871 - Copy

Ingredients

  • 2 cups Sprouted Mung Dal
  • 1/2 cup Onions (finely chopped)
  • 1/2 cup Tomatoes (finely chopped)
  • 3-4 Green Chillies (finely chopped)
  • 1 tbsp Oil
  • 1 tsp Mustard seeds
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric Powder (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp Dhaniya Powder
  • Salt to taste
  • Juice from 1/2 Lemon
  • Cilantro to garnish

Procedure

  • Heat oil in a pan and add mustard seeds and let them splutter
  • Add onions and fry until translucent
  • Add green chilies

IMG_8859 - Copy  IMG_8862 - Copy  IMG_8863 - Copy

  • Add turmeric and dhaniya powder, stir 30 seconds and toss in tomatoes

IMG_8865 - Copy  IMG_8866 - Copy  IMG_8867 - Copy

  • Let it cook for another 2 minutes or till tomatoes are soft
  • add your washed and drained sprouts, mix and add salt.

IMG_8868 - Copy   IMG_8869 - Copy

  • Cover and Cook for another 5 minutes
  • Garnish with cilantro and serve with a drizzle of lemon juice.

IMG_8871 - Copy

Enjoy this warm and wonderful cooked moong sprouts for your breakfast or mid day snack. 🙂

One comment

  1. Pingback: Spice up your Sprouts! (Sprouted mung salad disguised as chaat) | All I do

Leave a Reply

